Handmade Artist Book Links & Resources

Check out my Pinterest board with lots of great photos!

Folded Books     Bound Books      Altered Books

Online Resources

Artist Books 3.0 Ning site http://artistbooks.ning.com/
Directory of the Web (from AOL to still useful) https://dmoztools.net/Arts/Crafts/Paper/Book_Arts/
The Journal of Artist Books Online http://www.journalofartistsbooks.org/online/

Centers, Galleries, Guilds

Artists’ Books from Arizona State University http://ulibnet.mtsu.edu/SpecialCollections/exhibits/asu/
Ashville Bookworks http://www.ashevillebookworks.com/
Bienes Museum of the Modern Book http://www.broward.org/Library/Bienes/Pages/Default.aspx
Book Arts Web and Bonefolder http://www.philobiblon.com/index.shtml
Canadian Bookbinders and Book Artists Guild https://cbbag.wildapricot.org/
CBBAG Exhibition https://cbbag.wildapricot.org/book_mosaic
Center for Book Arts “Book Arts in the USA” 1990 http://centerforbookarts.org/event/book-arts-in-the-usa/
Center for Book Arts, New York, NY http://centerforbookarts.org/
Columbia College Chicago Center for Book and Paper Arts http://www.colum.edu/academics/book-and-paper/
Minnesota Center for Book Arts http://www.mnbookarts.org/
San Diego Book Arts http://www.sandiegobookarts.com
San Francisco Center for the Book http://www.sfcb.org/
San Francisco State University – Artists Books: Vision – Form – Function A Virtual Exhibit By Meredith Eliassen http://www.library.sfsu.edu/exhibits/artists/index.html
University of Idaho Old Bookarts Page http://www.philobiblon.com/idaho/index.shtml
University of Iowa Center for the Book http://book.grad.uiowa.edu/

Types of Books

Altered

Altered Book – A Great How To – Eliza Metz – 2004 http://www.ebsqart.com/artMagazine/za_271.htm
Altered Diva Blog http://alterediva.blogspot.com/
Altering a book by folding it – citizenkatya http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=208755
Art E Zine UK Vintage images also http://www.art-e-zine.co.uk/
ArtChix Studio Gallery http://www.artchixstudio.com/gallery/featured/featured_TerrieLightfoot.htm
Craig Stark Article on Altered Books “Adding or Subtracting Value” http://www.bookthink.com/0007/07alt.htm
Ethnic Images for Altered Books http://alteredbooks.tribe.net/thread/005959af-6ad2-4179-8554-10af086d7e77
Karen Whimsy’s Altered Books http://karenswhimsy.com/altered-books/
Nature Girl The Craft Blog http://the-craft-blog.blogspot.com/
Vintage Pocket Books by Sally White http://www.art-e-zine.co.uk/swhite.html

Bound

3 Hole Bookmaking A Simple Pamphlet http://www.booklyn.org/education/ispamphlet.pdf
“Small, Not Insignificant: a Specification for a Conservation Pamphlet Binding Structure” by Randy Silverman http://cool.conservation-us.org/coolaic/sg/bpg/annual/v06/bp06-13.html
Bookbinding and Grammar Tips and Resources from Compass Rose Horizons http://www.compassrose.com/publishing/bookbinding.html
Bookbinding Definition https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bookbinding
Christorpher Swingley – shows how to bind book w/pics http://swingleydev.com/bookbinding/mlb_rules.php
Coptic Bindings PDF http–www.booklyn.org-education-coptic.pdf
Dick Blick Simple Sewn Pamphlet http://www.dickblick.com/lessonplans/handmadebooks/
EvilRooster Bookweb – Three Bindings http://bookweb.sunpig.com/ribbons/index.htm
Indiana University – Great visual on Case Bound Book http://www.indiana.edu/~libpres/manual/treatments/cbind/index.html
Inward Bound – Lorna Aaronson More good visuals on bound books http://inward-bound.us/making-case-bound.html
Mechling Bookbindery http://www.bookbindersworkshop.com/
Stitched Bindings – Button Hole and Long Stitch Books CaiLun Paper & Bookmaking http://cailun.info/index.php?/plugin/freetag/techniques
THE Simple Japanese Bookbinding by Brook West http://www.berk-edu.com/HYB_subsite/bookbinding/sewnBinding/bindit.html
Volcano Arts Good info on pastes http://www.volcanoarts.biz/cart/bookbinding/gallery/index.htm#Weavers

Folded

Accordion Book Wine bottle with tags http://www.colorfulcreations.net/class_winebottle.htm
Accordion Book with leaves, Journey North http://www.learner.org/jnorth/tm/leaf/15DaysC.html
Accordion Books by Jenny Taliadoros http://jennysartspace.com/bookart/accordion.html
Accordion Fold with Pocket http://paperimagerydesigns.blogspot.com/2009/03/accordion-fold-by-gabrielle-madsen.html
Cathy Chavez, Teacher Web – A Lot of Ideas http://teacherweb.com/tx/cadwallader/cchavez/index.html
Colophon Gallery Tunnel Books good pics http://colophon.com/gallery/minsky/tunnel.htm
Exploring Tunnel Books – History http://artistbooks.com/abr/abr2.htm
FlapBooks Great Brazil for Kids http://www.waldsfe.org/Snap%20Shots/brazil_flapbooks.htm
Flip Books – Robert Price, Eggplant.org http://www.eggplant.org/ideas/visual/animation.html
Fold an Accordion Book – Hard cover GOOD http://www.kid-at-art.com/htdoc/lesson25.html
Jewish Historial Museum Esther Scroll http://www.thejewishmuseum.org/onlinecollection/object_collection.php?objectid=5921&md=Screen%20print%20on%20paper
Little One Sheet Book – but not the one http://www.edzone.net/~mwestern/mini.pdf
Little One Sheet Book – shows the upside down printing http://www.fimp.net/makeabook.html
Pop Art Tunnel Books by Joanna Davis http://www.princetonol.com/groups/iad/Files/Joanna-Popart.htm
Quadraramas from Alice Pickel http://www.teachnet.com/lesson/langarts/foldedbkrpts071599.html
Shape Book Outlines TeacherView http://www.teacherview.com/WritingCenter/shape_books/
Shape Books – Shining Hours http://www.shininghours.com/creating/bookideas.htm
Starbook PDF http–www.sdmart.org-pix-starbook.pdf
Susan Kapuscinski Gaylord – Her really good resource on lots of childrens books: Wish Scroll, Who Am I? Book http://www.makingbooks.com/freeprojects.shtml
Triangular Books – written instructions with interesting comments http://home.ccil.org/~cowan/sessiwn/msg00453.html
Tunnel Book PDF http–www.sdmart.org-pix-tunnelbook.pdf
Tunnel Book with flaps PDF http://www.philobiblon.com/gbwarticle/hutchins1.PDF
Little One Sheet book – The Simple Diagram http://www.scribd.com/doc/1028580/hOW-TO-FOLD-A-ONE-SHEET-BOOK

Pop-up

Robert Sabuda Pop-up Artist Extraordinaire http://wp.robertsabuda.com/
Robert’s International gallery http://wp.robertsabuda.com/international-pop-up-gallery/
Popular Kinetics Press http://www.popularkinetics.com/index.html
Popular Kinetics Press – Making Popups http://www.popularkinetics.com/making_page.html
Explosion Pop-Up Book by Judy Christensen PDF http://www.arts.ucsb.edu/faculty/reese/classes/artistsbooks/popupbook.pdf
Mark Hiner Pop-Up Books http://www.markhiner.co.uk/producing.htm
Pop-up Book instructions http://projects.edtech.sandi.net/pershing/explorers/popup.htm
Pop-up Books by David Carter http://www.popupbooks.com/
Raphael Tuck and Sons Tour Through Their History – University of North Texas http://www.library.unt.edu/rarebooks/exhibits/popup2/tuck.htm
The Book Art Project of Paul Johnson http://www.bookart.co.uk/
The Moveable Book Society http://www.movablebooksociety.org/
Links from the Moveable Book Society http://www.movablebooksociety.org/resources.html
Unit Lesson in words on Movable Books PDF http://www.rif.org/assets/Documents/LessonPlans/LessonUnit_Making_Movable_Books.pdf
Reading is Fundamental http://www.rif.org/us/literacy-resources/activities/homemade-books-activity.htm
French site cool works http://www.livresanimes.com/#
The PopupLady http://popuplady.com/
The PopupLady – Learn How – Check out the I Love Mommy instructional video http://popuplady.com/links05-learntomakepopups.shtml
Pop-Up An Exhibition – Broward County Library’s Bienes Center for the Literary Arts is honored to present: Pop-Up, Peek, Push, Pull… : An Exhibition of Movable Books and Ephemera from the Collection of Geraldine Roberts Lebowitz of Boca Raton, Florida. http://www.broward.org/library/bienes/lii13913.htm
Ed Hutchins – Artist Books.com http://www.artistbooks.com/
MOVING INTO AUTOMATA
World Upside Down http://www.worldupsidedown.com/index.html
Flying Pig in England http://www.flying-pig.co.uk/
C. Carey Cloud – Cracker Jack Toy Maker http://www.c-carey-cloud.com/
BLOGS ABOUT POP UP BOOKS
Pop up book blog with samples http://kyleolmon.com/blogmain.html
Thomas Allen – Art Made From Books (and Pop-Ups) http://thomasallenonline.com/
Paper Pino – with downloads blog http://paperpino.net/
Children’s Projects – Inspiring for adults too…
Arts, Books and Creativity – National Museum of Women in the Arts – a curriculum http://artbookscreativity.org/
Dick Blick K-12 Paper and Book Art Lessons – Free http://www.dickblick.com/lesson-plans/discipline/book-and-paper-arts/
Making Books – Susan Kapuscinski Gaylord REALLY good http://www.makingbooks.com/freeprojects.shtml
Vickie Blackwell’s Making Books http://www.vickiblackwell.com/makingbooks/index.htm
Joan Irvine – The Pop-Up Lady http://joanirvine.com/how-to-make-a-pop-up/
The PopupLady – Learn How – Check out the I Love Mommy instructional video http://popuplady.com/links05-learntomakepopups.shtml
Literacy and Making Children’s Books http://www.learningbooks.net/literacy.html
Making your own art stamps http://www.aisling.net/mailroom/artistamps/size.htm
Denver Art Museum Resources – Wow check out the Visual Arts http://creativity.denverartmuseum.org/for-teachers/resources/teachingresources/
Miniature Books
Links, Lots of Mini Books, Studet Folder Websites http://www.canby.com/hockmanchupp/student_folder_websites.html
Peter and Donna Thomas Minature Books http://www2.cruzio.com/~peteranddonna/miniature.htm
For Classes – Academic
What is an Artist Book? Smithsonian http://blog.library.si.edu/2012/06/what-is-an-artists-book
Johanna Drucker, “The Century of Artists’ Books” http://www.granarybooks.com/books/drucker2/drucker2.html
Book Arts Web, The Philobiblon http://www.philobiblon.com/
Book Binding Trade – typical parts of a case bound book http://www.ferdinando.org.uk/book_binding.htm
Development of the Artist’s Book – Peter D. Verheyen -Book Arts Web http://www.philobiblon.com/DevArtistsBook.shtml
Future of the Book http://futureofthebook.com/
Getty Exhibitions, “The Artist turns to the Book” http://www.getty.edu/art/exhibitions/artist_book/
History of Artists Books http://www.library.yale.edu/arts/specialcollections/abhistory.php
Issues of sequentiality http://karaart.com/prints/articles/kunc/artists.books.3.html
Kent Manske & Nanette Wylde, Books as Art syllabus, CSU Chico http://www.csuchico.edu/~nwylde/pdfs/BooksAsArt.pdf
Penner, G, Art and Spirit Thesis http://www.gwenjpenner.com/publications/artandspirit.php
Penner, G., “Discovering Artists Books: The art, the artists and the issues” MA Thesis by Gwendolyn Penner http://www.gwenjpenner.com/thesis.php
Workshop links ( a bit outdated) http://www.art-e-zine.co.uk/workshoplinks.html
Individual Artists
Alan Wofsy Fine Arts – Wittenborn Art Books, Live & Work Spaces http://www.art-books.com/cgi-bin/artbooks/santa_rosa.html
Beth Lee, Calligraphy and books http://www.callibeth.com/
Bev Brazelton, Altered Books http://www.bevbrazelton.com/
Dan Mayer, ASU http://art.asu.edu/faculty/danmayer/samples.html
Emily Martin and Naughty Dog Press http://www.emilymartin.com/index.htm
Jeannie M. Hunt – pie book, children workshops http://www.oneheartarts.com/prayergal.htm
Jill Timm Miniature Books http://www.mysticalplaces.com/about.html
Johan Deumens Gallery, Haarlem, The Netherlands http://www.artistsbooks.com/
Judy and Michael Jacobs – Inspiring website http://www.thecreativezone.com/
Karen Elaine – Mixed media, journals, altered books http://www.karenelaine.com/index.php
Karen Michel, Mixed Media and Book Art http://www.karenmichel.com/
Lisa Kokin – Altered Books http://www.lisakokin.com/altered/
Mel – Altered Diva http://alterediva.blogspot.com/
Old Leather Bound Books – very nice http://www.oldleather.com/home.html
Susan Hensel Design and Gallery http://www.susanhenseldesign.com/
Ed Ruscha http://www.gagosian.com/exhibitions/ed-ruscha–march-05-2013
M. L. Van Nice http://www.nmwa.org/explore/artist-profiles/m-l-van-nice
Showcasing Professional Book Artists http://www.artistbooknews.com/hutchins.htm
Inspirations and Specific Lessons
British Library – Sacred Books for Kids http://www.bl.uk/learning/artimages/sacredbook/sacredbook.html
Descansos – Soul Food Café http://www.dailywriting.net/Descansos.htm
I Remember My Baptism by Making an Artist’s Book by Judy http://www.sundayschoollessons.com/bapbook.htm
San Diego Museum of Art – Education Lesson Plans http://www.sdmart.org/education-plans.html#book
Soul Food Café – Writing http://www.dailywriting.net/
Workshop Sites
Art and Soul Retreat http://www.artandsoulretreat.com/
Art Unraveled http://www.artunraveled.com/
Juliana Coles – Extreme Visual Journaling http://www.meandpete.com/
Mystical Places Press – Book Arts Workshops, Book Making Classes http://www.mysticalplaces.com/workshops.html
Starwae Inn Workshops – Sonoma, CA http://www.starwae.com/events.html
Valley Ridge, Wisconsin http://www.valleyridgeartstudio.com
Zea Mays Printmaking – Western MA http://www.zeamaysprintmaking.com/gallery.html
Ezines Publications
Bonefolder edition with Joanna Drucker’s Exemplary Works http–www.philobiblon.com-bonefolder-BonefolderVol1No2.pdf
EBSQ – Self Representing Artists INSPIRING Info http://www.ebsqart.com/
Eliza Metz on Altered Books http://www.ebsqart.com/artMagazine/za_271.htm
Supplies & Techniques
Book Binding Trade – typical parts of a case bound book http://www.ferdinando.org.uk/book_binding.htm
BookMakers http://www.bookmakerscatalog.com/
Colorful Creations – Scrapbooking and Stamping Studio http://www.colorfulcreations.net/index.html
Coxes – Leather Stamped Books, and more http://coxes.com/booktech/index.html
Flax Art & Design, San Francisco http://www.flaxart.com/
Hollanders – The Place To Go http://www.hollanders.com/
Lenz Arts – Hilary got her printing paper here http://www.lenzarts.com/index.html
Paper Studio http://www.paperstudio.com/
Stampington and Company – Art Stamping http://www.stampington.com/html/begining_basics.html
The Creative Zone – All kinds of good things http://www.thecreativezone.com/
Volcano Arts Supplier and Articles http://www.volcanoarts.biz/toc.html
Yasutomo Fine Art Materials http://www.yasutomo.com/
Other Links
Kathy Garcia Bella Online Bound Journals and Other Books http://www.bellaonline.com/subjects/6830.asp
Contemporary Art Listing of Galleries and Artists http://karaart.com/index.html
Graphic Organizers
#1 MindScapes Nancy Margulies http://www.nancymargulies.com/
Graphic Organizers – Specific Skills http://www.somers.k12.ny.us/intranet/skills/thinkmaps.html
Online Maps for Free http://www.cogniview.com/convert-pdf-to-excel/post/using-mind-maps-for-creativity-note-taking-and-productivity/
Thinking Maps http://www.mapthemind.com/thinkingmaps/themaps/tree/index.html
Tony Buzan MindMaps http://www.buzan.com.au/learning/mind_mapping.html
TRANSFORMATIVE ART
Centers, Organization
Arts and Healing Network http://www.artheals.org/start.html
A&H Network Links http://www.artheals.org/inspiration/organizations.php
Art As A Healing Force http://www.artashealing.org/
Institute for Poetic Medicine – John Fox http://www.poeticmedicine.com/
Poetry Therapy Organization http://www.poetrytherapy.org/
Susanne West – Insight to Action http://www.susannewest.com/
Women Environmental Artists Directory http://www.weadartists.org/
Green Museum http://www.greenmuseum.org/
Individual Artists
Alex Grey http://www.alexgrey.com/
Hannelore Fischer http://www.hannelorefischer.net/
More to come!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.